ALX SWE Program Chronicles: 6 Months of Skill Building

ALX SWE Program Chronicles: 6 Months of Skill Building

My Experience Navigating Challenges and Success in ALX's SWE Program

I have officially completed 6 months of the ALX SWE program. It feels great to say that. Phew! It's been a long journey, with many late nights. I'm especially grateful that I've made it this far. Seven months to go, but who's counting, right?

If you're reading this, you're already aware of the ALX SWE Program. If you don't, there's a link to the program's catalog at the bottom of this article.

My initial expectations for this program were high—100% of which were met. Before joining ALX, I had some 'amateur' experience in the tech world. I have a background in Information Science - Informatics, so I was familiar with HTML and CSS. A code editor too. I used one of those at university. So, yeah, I knew a little bit of programming here and there.

But I wasn't serious about the skills I'd picked up while at university. I had a lot of theory and only about 40% experience. I could create websites in WordPress as well as HTML and JS. I could also write basic Python and PHP programs with a lot of Googling. Some of my peers would say I was well-versed in programming.

But, in reality, I was nowhere near where I desired to be. As of now, I can thump my chest and say I am halfway there through the ALX SWE program. My initial goal in this program was to learn everything I could about how programs work. I've gained a lot of insight into this along the way. I have enjoyed working with Python's Object-Oriented structure. However, it occasionally breaks my heart. But we're on the move. Through is the only way I know.

What I have learned so far

First and foremost, I have gained enormous confidence. Confidence in writing code, communicating with peers, sharing ideas, and asking for help. Most importantly, I've gained confidence in my ability to believe in myself. I've learned how to "Do Hard Things" efficiently.

I am grateful for the wonderful community of peers in my cohort - Cohort 15. Their insights have repeatedly proven useful in navigating the SWE program. Finally, I believe that collaboration is the path to software programming excellence. Some of the resources we've shared on Discord have proven to be extremely beneficial to both me and others.

I've also learned to be kind to myself. In that—sometimes things won't go as I would wish for them to. When I get red checkers a dozen times, I shouldn't be too hard on myself. There is always another chance, and there is no harm in seeking assistance. I'm sure I live for those green checks right now. Nothing beats finally getting them after numerous attempts. It's like a pat on the back for all the hassle I've had to go through.

Major Challenges I Have Faced

"It's not that I'm so smart," Einstein once said, "it's just that I stay with problems longer." I am certain that my cohort's peers will resonate. There are challenges everywhere, and I've had my fair share. From getting sick to failing all but one checker in a task. The most difficult challenge for me has been failing to believe in myself.

At one point, I became extremely discouraged and asked myself, "Why me?" Looking back, it's a source of laughter. One of those times was when I failed to commit a README file, which is a must for all project tasks. As a result, I spent nearly 3 hours re-running the checker. I realized my error as I was about to give up and out. I still remember the relief I felt when I finally figured "things" out.

I've had to deal with difficulties such as not having enough time to complete all tasks successfully. At times like these, I simply give in and commit my project files in the hopes of a better tomorrow. I always have faith that something is better than nothing. And something worth doing is worth doing badly.

I'm a sucker for second chances, so I always revisit projects that I don't think I've grasped well enough or where I know I could do better. I appreciate ALX always giving you a second chance to review your project. Even though you only get half the marks, you can re-learn concepts down the road.

My Favorite Projects to Work On Thus Far

I'd be Bob the Builder if I were a TV cartoon character. I enjoy starting from scratch and tinkering with things until they work. This personal endeavor has really helped me clasp as many straws as I can while in this program.

I had a lot of fun working on the AirBnB clone project, especially the web static. As a perfectionist, I am proud to say that I came very close to the prototype provided. The disparity would be hair thin—if there's any at all. I've also had a lot of fun configuring my servers and curling my domain name just to see if it works.

I also had some fun with Python's Unit Testing, though I still have some reservations about my understanding of it all. It's also been a lot of fun learning how to navigate directories in Linux. I've been using Vagrant for all of my projects, and it's been well worth it. I encourage you to grow out of the sandbox as much as possible; it will be very rewarding. You're sure to enjoy the sense of authority that comes with using sudo su. I also love utilizing ls -la as it provides a comprehensive view, aligning with my appreciation for organizational clarity.

In Six Months, I've Learned a lot.

I've always enjoyed using Linux. As previously stated, interacting with a black-and-white interface is satisfying. The number of cmd commands you know at your fingertips determine how far you can go and how much you can do.

I've also greatly improved my problem-solving abilities. I've outgrown the frequency with which I get frustrated when I miss a semicolon. I'm more forgiving about my code not working. When debugging, I've learned to read server logs without getting bored. I've learned to work with Betty and give her what she wants. I've also learned that red flags aren't such a bad thing after all; I can always work on them later on.

My scores thus far - Blain Muema

^ My scores 6 months into the ALX SWE Program

On a more serious note, I have a thorough understanding of the Python programming language. I've defined functions I had no idea I could do without Googling. According to James Bach, "a good tester is a skeptical tester," so I've learned the value of testing my functions. You never know if it works until it breaks. Practicing scripting with Bash and Python has also been super useful.

Community Connection: Nurturing Networks for Success

I've learned how to improve my soft skills. I've learned that every thought is worth sharing. And a lot of heads are better than one. Three is also not a crowd; that is an opportunity for Peer Learning. My social app rotation has also shifted to include the Cohort 15 Discord channel. Nowadays, it's the second app I launch after logging into my computer. I am grateful to all of my community mentors and peers.

I'm excited to be a part of The Room Fellowship. I'm not sure when that will happen because the Intro clip by Fred Swaniker is still displayed on my The Room dashboard. However, I have benefited from Expert Sessions on how to groom oneself for the job market. I'm looking forward to learning more.

Future plans and Drinks after... maybe

After finishing the software engineering program, I hold ambitious expectations. These expectations are founded on a dedication to excellence. I want to do more than just finish the program. I believe I have the proper mentality and drive to achieve my objectives. Most significantly, I am looking forward to establishing myself as an agile developer. I want to be skilled at converting abstract concepts and complex problems into on-demand software solutions.

As I navigate the dynamic landscape of software engineering, my goal is not merely to acquire a set of skills. I want to become a proactive architect of innovation. A being prepared to make a meaningful contribution to the ever-changing realm of technology. I hope you'll be here in 7 months to see my showdown. Stick around, will you?

I will be blogging more frequently from now on, so please consider subscribing to my Newsletter. Stay tuned for further insights into my path, things I've picked up, coding tips & tricks, and more.

Check out the ALX SWE Program catalog here.